Old Made New

Back in January of this year 2016 I had a light bulb moment. I love working with fabric and making costumes and sewing, but I suddenly decided that I wanted to make wedding dresses. Where it came from I have no idea, but I was taken over by the idea of designing and creating and tailoring wedding dresses or even suits for the big day, the expectant bride or groom.

So with a whole month over the Easter holidays and then a long summer holidays I thought I might as well put my new skill to good use.

So personal project number 1 I have decided to challenge myself with recreating my mum’s wedding dress, what better way to start exploring my new found passion that recreating an existing design.

P1050601

I did talk to my mum before I decided to go ahead with remaking it, My mum thought it was a great idea.

This is an ideal project as well because I have the dress to hand for real in depth research, and the wedding dress photos, and I can get some great information from my mum by asking her questions that I have about how her dress was made.

So the project begins!

One thought on “Old Made New

Leave a Reply

